Researching Documentaries

The next thing I did was to watch some documentaries to see what different ones do. I chose to focus on Countryfile, which is a program on BBC1, they do a lot of documentaries based on farms and things to do with the country so there may be some documentaries on horses. I chose to look at a number of different documentaries; here are the links to the ones I looked at. I tried to use ones that had horses in so it can relate to my work.

The first thing I noticed about these documentaries was that they have a lot of different shots and lots of changes to different shots. This shows a variety of different things in a short space of time and so keeps the viewer interested as if they were watching the same thing for a long time they would lose interest. The next thing I noticed is that they both have voice over’s when on the different shots so you can still listen to someone talking. They do also have some shots of the person talking but they tend to alternate the different shots. Finally they also both have non-diegetic sounds like soundtracks and music when on some shot. These are things that I am going to take into consideration when planning my documentary.

Leave a Reply

